car junkie with commitment issues

Vans from japan, yeah they are

often i have an urge to buy a van, like a previa, and i tell my friends this and they often look at me like 400 pieces of lego just pored out of my nose…”what the hell is wrong your you?”.

So I figured I’d educate you all on what this van thing is about for me.
In japan it’s a big thing, some call it part of VIP tuning or some “bippu” thing…but whatever.

My personal favorite is the toyota previa. it’s a great bread box, and it looks kinda weird to some, but it’s RWD, it had an available supercharged engine, and also had an available 5-spd manual transmission. In north america it had a solid rear axle, but in japan it had an independent rear suspension. the solid axle isn’t all bad, there are lsd rear ends to be had from the toyota trucks as well as disc rear ends. I say buy one super cheap, toss in some coilovers are maybe even air bag suspension, then combine the supercharged engine with the 5 speed, and a smaller pulley and some cool wheels and enjoy. it would be a great parts runner/roadtrip car.

Here are some pics of the previa:
estima6estima9van12zigwagestima2zigwagestima31

This Black one is the coolest to me, a great example of CLEAN!

 

and here are a few of the honda odyssey, stream, and a couple nissan vans.

39-1honda-stream-vanimg_5851p1-1van9zz42ce18c0

These last 3 white ones have that newer blocky look that going on and I really love it…too bad most of the vans we get here are soo different from the vans the automakers offer in japan.

Thanks to

5 responses

  1. mcgowan

    I think the vans are sick!

    March 28, 2009 at 4:29 pm

  2. J. Patstone

    These vans are a bit eccentric. And I must say, I prefer wheels that are straight and not appearing to be falling off. Call me old fashioned. Speaking of old fashioned, we used to have some beautiful old VW vans looking like these things. Same game different name.

    March 29, 2009 at 6:10 am

  3. J. Patstone

    I must say, I’m not too much into these new wheel treatments. Looks like the wheels want to fall off. (I guess that’s”extreme camber”). In my younger days people would do these kind of things to VW vans. I believe some are still around today.

    March 29, 2009 at 6:16 am

  4. joshp77

    mmm I should do a post about crazy camber!

    March 29, 2009 at 9:07 am

  5. modifaeble

    this is funny. they look good but how do they handle? a little bulky but in all honesty they look awesome

    March 30, 2009 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

