car junkie with commitment issues

to vdub’ or not

VW’s have many strong points, one being the body structure and another being the seating position… ok forget that… i don’t want to sit here and analyze the pro’s and con’s, i do it wayy too often, over analyzing things… weighing reliability against price, speed, looks….. damn.. now I’m analyzing my analyzation process.

ok having cars as a hobby isn’t a safe bet, sometimes you make money many time you loose money… but it’s not about money… or a safe bet, or reliability, or the right car even? No it’s about having fun, expressing yourself, and challenging yourself. Sometimes you just need to try something different. … if I really wanted the safe bet all my project cars would be camry’s and would all be left stock.

so here are some pictures of older VW’s have i’ve longed to try
2772850074_8f41261d30_o

the mkII jetta, I love the lip with the brake cooling ducts, and the stance, wheels…  love the car, it’s cool
vw van 22

the original van, just straight classic

 

3524955832_3b12dfd875_b

I love how vdub’ers will put damn near any wheel on their car, mercedes slr’s to bently to even 80’s corvette wheels.
3524957356_7e0a39d903_b

I use to hate these mkII headlights and the small bumpers of the early ones…. but for some reason i have totally flipped and i can’t get enough of them now, I like the more classic look… I’m tired of the modern stuff i guess..
vw jet1 5

mkI jetta… these are getting harder and harder to find, but they are soo small and tight and solid…. cool
vwbug0

the classic
vw rab rusty 1vwrabbit5

and a pair of slammed rabbits, aka mkI golf, I love these tiny cars with tons of character.

vwrabbit

I must be honest, I at the time (late 70’s to the mid 80’s) the japanese front wheels drive stuff was seriously not up to the task of competing with the little vw’s…. altho the 90’s was a different story.

 

I gotta thank vwvortex.com and dubberz.com for some of the pics

4 responses

  1. Mom

    You remember dad telling the story about the engine falling out of our VW in the mid ’70’s – beware!

    May 14, 2009 at 11:27 am

  2. joshp77

    that was a volvo mom

    May 14, 2009 at 11:35 am

  3. Shaun

    I like how your Mom checks up on you and your site… that’s pretty cool 🙂

    May 14, 2009 at 2:27 pm

  4. J. Patstone

    Love that old van, but it’s a way too low to the ground for my taste. And I’d love to see a nice classic paint job on it too, but I think that’s the craze these days as long as the body is solid.
    Used to have a ’58 beetle. Wiped out on Groat road in Edmonton. Did a 360 against the guardrail, but was able to keep going afterwards, and I wanted to get to heck outta there before the cops came. Ended up repainting it with a brush and some ugly turquoise paint. It just kept goin’ and goin’ and goin……

    May 15, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Leave a Reply

