car junkie with commitment issues

total lack of inspiration

not sure what’s up lately but it’s been 3 posts in a month… rather then 3 posts a week. Fall really sucks, it’s rains all the time here and it seems everyones project cars are on hold till after christmas. as for my ’92 civic si hatch project…. well I lost interest, it’s the on going dilemma of the daily/family car and project in one, it can’t be done. I can’t please everyone or even myself, the civic is great in town and the Koni/H&R race combo works very well for me but my wife hates it (she misses the cressida on the coilovers). but the car is irritatingly noisy on the highway even with the stock intake and exhaust and driving people around and running errands with a 2 door really sucks.

I need to get a car that I have absolutely have no interest in modifying to use for daily/family stuff and road trips. Then I can get a 2nd vehicle for my project that I can drive to work in the summer, modify however I want, and drive the hell out of… and if I break it now and then… no biggie I have a normal car as a back up…. or if the project needs to go under the knife for a season or 2…. so be it.

I might get an accord for the family stuff (94-97) but I’d want the v6 or the wagon (can’t get the v6 in the wagon tho) I’d want this car to be an auto but the auto makes the 4 banger too slow, hence the v6 would be nice…….. BUT the big problem here is that the accord is a totally modifiable car…. I can almost guarantee I’d end up modding it.. at least with just some springs and wheels….. but most the cars I’d consider for the “family” car I’d mod, like a legacy, impreza, civic, ls400, gs300, is300….. I’d have to get something soo boring (camry) or something soo ugly (forester)…. that modding it would produce no gain…. just money lost… or I could get a van like a 1st gen honda odyssey, but no a previa… I’d totally mod that

here’s some pics of modified accords that are very simple with only a few mods…. but mods that I would certainly try to replicate.

 

I know that most of these cars you’ll think… why bother…. but I’m a car junkie… addicted

Accord wagon:
accord wag 11
3732309160_12afed607a_o

Accord sedan:

DSC_0139-1

l_052246391f2f4d64a01d0fa7b5caad78

8 responses

  1. J. Patstone

    I think they’re methodically modified.Good looking practical cars. A second fun car is great but it’s costly in the long run of course. Why do you particularly want an automatic?
    Didn’t Honda have a little van before the present Odyssey. I think it was called an Odyssey but it was smaller. It was only available for a couple of years. Probably rare as hell right now.

    November 16, 2009 at 5:34 am

  2. J. Patstone

    Did some research. It was the first Odyssey. 1999 available with a V6. They were rare at the time, and I can’t find a picture anywhere. They were a little bigger than the wagon and higher, but smaller than the dodges and fords.

    November 16, 2009 at 5:56 am

  3. joshp77

    yea honda made the 1st gen odyssey, from 1995 to 1998, the 95-97 had the 2.2 litre vtec which was decent but in the last year (98) it got a revamped 2.3 litre sohc vtec which many reviewers said performed like a V6. A large part of what made it perform so well was that the first odyssey used normal rear doors which saved a lot of weight, only was 3450lbs, while even the most basic dodge caravan was 4000lbs at the time. ’99 was the first year of the big heavy v6 powered van, but the 1999-2004 had serious transmission issues.
    yeah I’ve done my research on them, keeping ym eyes open for a 98, but I’d still need to sell my car first and I’m not sure I want a big van yet…. and it’s possible I might still mod it…

    November 16, 2009 at 7:56 am

    • J. Patstone

      Right on, pre 99. But I see you have some pictures today. Great, maybe not as rare as I thought.

      November 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

  4. I’m not sure what your budget is, but what about a first gen Mazda 6? Like an 02 or 03? They’re good family cars, not quite as boring as a Camry, and personally i don’t think i’d mod one.

    November 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

  5. jlewchuk

    what rims are on that first wagon. looks like two different sets? either way, dope..

    November 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm

  6. joshp77

    the rims are Challenge Racing Defi Fins made by SSR, the front wheels had SSR EX-C Brake Cooling Aero covers installed. cool as hell… you want a post on that car with more pics?

    November 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    • jlewchuk

      haha! i see todays post! nice nice nice!! thanks a bunch mayne.

      November 17, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Leave a Reply

