car junkie with commitment issues

Odd post…about new classics i think?

I’m not sure what to say here… I want to convey a point or write my “manifesto” about what I think the new classics are, from my point of view, that’s the only view point I have. But that view point is always changing.

When I was 8 and i got my first car magazine and the only cars I could care about were lambos, ferraris, and porsches, but those cars rarely interest me anymore. I’ve grown to find that cars that aren’t available to the “everyman” are somewhat insulting, I don’t like being told what i can and can’t have. Over time I grew to love the cars that allowed you creative freedom and that aspired to give performance to the everyman, or just aspired to be trusted transportation. These are the cars that ask for very little but give and give. This is why I understand peoples love for the american pickup, take for example the older chevy pickups, they were cheap to buy even when new, the steering was always very vague, the glove box always rattled, and nothing was ever quite right…. but it always worked, the parts were always cheap, and when it came down to it it just never really wanted to die and there are still millions on the road. it’s some type of relentless desire to serve without asking for anything in return that makes certain things so endearing. we should seeks such qualities in people.

I can’t see this in new cars, just like the old timers couldn’t see it in the cars of the late 70’s, 80’s, and 90’s, hopefully my mind will open up.

I also feel i need to write more in my posts, this is my outlet after all. I usually just let the pics do all the talking, but there is more to me, more to my passion for cars, and more to this blog then just someone else’s pics. So I will try to write more in the posts, but when I’m busy it’s better to give you all a quick something then wait a week with nothing new.

So….the new classics….I have a sort of criteria, which often fails itself mind you, about what qualifies as New classic to me. I should also define classic vs. new classic.

Pre 1978 kinda equals a classic to me. the nissan gc10 skyline, the datsun 510, nissan 240/260/280z, the toyota te27/te37, ta22 celica. on the german side, it’s bmw 2002’s barvaria’s, mercedes before the w123 chassis…. that kinda stuff.

New classics to me are pretty much all within the 1980 to 1988 range, the mercedes w123 chassis, bmw e20 and early e30’s, the corolla te72, ra65 celica’s, ma65 supra’s, the vw golf/jetta mk1 and early mk2

But of course these kind of things are nearly impossible to define and heavily subject to opinion.

I’m just going to show you one just one car that fits the bill here and isn’t a common build.

enjoy.

RA65 celica on 15×9-20 centerlines

I think this car could go wider with more front camber and a slight trim of the front flares the rear has space already.

I love these interiors, and the awesome super adjustable bucket seats, true bucket seats, the kind where you feel like your sitting in a hole, your butt’s low and you legs are held high and you don’t have to hold your own legs up and brace your self for the hard corners, all you have to do is press the right pedals, flick the right leaver, and spin the wheel.

these are simple purposeful and well built interiors.

I should note that I hate the 22re motor that came in these cars…. but who cares

12 responses

  1. modifaeble

    this is cool. the celica especially. but i do have to ask the question: where to aesthetics fit in when it comes to that giving that does not stop? form or function?

    January 24, 2010 at 1:51 am

  2. Josh

    mmm.. for me aesthetics are something that can be made… to an extent. The most aesthetically please part of a car to me is the stance, how well the body shape, body height, and wheel size come together for a good over all stance.
    my motto… if a car needs a big body kit and flashy paint to “look good” then you bought and ugly car.
    this year of celica for example I think looks horrible with the stock ride height and wheels, but lowered and with the right wheels it all of a sudden becomes a new toyota favourite of mine.
    so i say start with a proven reliable car that you see potential in.

    January 24, 2010 at 2:12 am

  3. J. Patstone

    This is a nice model for modifying, but this particular one needs a lot more work to make it attractive. And I think I see some rust there somewhere. I guess it’s a work in progress.

    January 24, 2010 at 6:44 am

  4. Hey love the car and the post…got anymore pics..or pics of other examples??
    I have a RA64..so im a big fan of the 22RE

    January 24, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  5. Josh

    funny thing is that I don’t mind the rust, i learn to live with some of it because it costs soo much to get rid of and it always comes back and it’s next to impossible to find an old car without it. learning to live with it and trying to slow it down is much easier. I call it “rust management”. If a car is too pretty then i’m always worried about where i park it, door dings, rock chips…ect.

    I’ll try to find enough cool celicas to make a post of it. as for the 22re I have a bad history of them and with friend who have them… all to do with the head and head gaskets, one leaks then the other warps and cracks… it’s never an issue of “if” it will happen just “when” it will happen…. but I wouldn’t let that stop me from trying out one of these celicas

    January 24, 2010 at 12:50 pm

  6. Freddy

    My 22re has 185,000 original miles.. no Leaks.. no knocking valves.. runs smooth…
    Sadly its for sale… One owner since NEW..If anyone is interested. PM me or visit me on my blog ra64freddy.wordpress.com..
    Thanks!

    January 24, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  7. I wanted to thank you for this great blog!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

    January 30, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  8. ollieboard

    how did you lower the back i cant find any thing other then 1 inch lowering springs

    January 5, 2012 at 12:04 am

    • Josh

      Custom, if you want to do anything right on an old car it’s gotta be custom. It pays to have a chop saw, angle grinder, zip discs, and a welder.

      January 5, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  9. Jake TheSnake

    Where do you get these fender flares??

    August 19, 2012 at 5:57 pm

  10. Josh

    those are the stock celica gts flares

    August 19, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  11. Jake TheSnake

    I thought so.. this car is tight. I just bought an 83 myself a few months back. few and far between I find a GOOD thread with a ra64. what is your suspension setup like?

    August 19, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Leave a Reply

